Work Planned (OBSOLETE)

Based on:
  • An initial meeting held during QM06 (Chair: J.Lauret, L. Barnby, O, Baranikova, A. Rose)
  • Email exchange and notes from the meeting (From: J. Lauret, Date: 11/20/2006 22:36, Subject: Summary of our embedding meeting)
  • Further EMails from L. Barnby in embedding-hn (Date: 1/18/2007 15:12, Thread ID 84)
the following task list has been defined.

ID
Task
% Complete Duration Start Finish Assigned people
1
General QA consolidation
28% 109 days? Thu 11/16/06 Tue 4/17/07  
2            
3
Documentation
25% 37 days Mon 12/18/06 Tue 2/6/07  
4
Port old QA documentation to Drupal, define hierarchy
50% 4 wks Mon 12/18/06 Fri 1/12/07 Cristina Suarez[10%]
5
Add general documentation descriptive of the embedding purpose
0% 2 days Mon 1/15/07 Tue 1/16/07 Lee Barnby[10%],Andrew Rose[10%]
6
Add documentation as per the embedding procedure, diverse embedding
0% 2 days Mon 1/15/07 Tue 1/16/07 Lee Barnby[10%],Andrew Rose[10%]
7
Import PDSF documentation into Drupal
0% 1 wk Wed 1/17/07 Tue 1/23/07 Andrew Rose[10%]
8
Review and adjust documentation
0% 1 wk Wed 1/24/07 Tue 1/30/07 Olga Barranikova[10%],Andrew Rose[5%],Lee Barnby[5%]
9
Deliver documentation to collaboration for comments
0% 1 wk Wed 1/31/07 Tue 2/6/07 STAR Collaboration[10%]
10
Drop all old documentation, adjust link (redirect)
0% 1 day Wed 1/31/07 Wed 1/31/07 Andrew Rose[15%],Jerome Lauret[15%]
11            
12
Line of authority, base conventions
84% 52 days Thu 11/16/06 Fri 1/26/07  
13
Meeting with key personnel
100% 1 day Thu 11/16/06 Thu 11/16/06 Jerome Lauret[10%],Olga Barranikova[10%],Andrew Rose[10%],Lee Barnby[10%]
14
Define responsibilities and scope of diverse individual in the embedding team
100% 1 mon Mon 12/4/06 Fri 12/29/06 Jerome Lauret[15%],Olga Barranikova[6%]
15
Define file name convention, document final proposal
50% 2 wks Mon 1/15/07 Fri 1/26/07 Jerome Lauret[6%],Lee Barnby[6%],Lidia Didenko[6%],Andrew Rose[6%]
16            
17
Collaborative work
45% 60 days Mon 1/22/07 Fri 4/13/07  
18
General Cataloguing issues
0% 9 days Mon 1/29/07 Thu 2/8/07  
19
Test Catalog registration, adjust as necessary
0% 4 days Mon 1/29/07 Thu 2/1/07 Lidia Didenko[20%],Jerome Lauret[20%]
20
Extend Spider/Indexer to include embedding registration
0% 1 wk Fri 2/2/07 Thu 2/8/07 Jerome Lauret[10%]
21
Bug tracking, mailing lists and other tools
69% 60 days Mon 1/22/07 Fri 4/13/07  
22
Re-enable embedding list, establish focus comunication at PWG level and user level
75% 3 mons Mon 1/22/07 Fri 4/13/07 Jerome Lauret[10%]
23
Establish embedding RT system queue
0% 1 day Tue 1/23/07 Tue 1/23/07 Jerome Lauret[5%]
24
Exercise embedding RT queue, adjust requirement
0% 4 days Wed 1/24/07 Mon 1/29/07 Andrew Rose[10%]
25
Establish data transfer scheme to a BNL disk pool
0% 22 days Mon 1/22/07 Tue 2/20/07  
26
Define requirements, general problems and issues
0% 1 wk Mon 1/22/07 Fri 1/26/07  
27
Add data pool mechanism at BNL, transfer with any method
0% 1 wk Mon 1/29/07 Fri 2/2/07  
28
Establish security schem, HPSS auto-synching
0% 1 wk Mon 2/5/07 Fri 2/9/07  
29
Test on one or more sites (non-PDSF)
0% 1 wk Mon 2/12/07 Fri 2/16/07  
30
Integrate to all participating sites
0% 1 wk Mon 2/12/07 Fri 2/16/07  
31
Document data transfer schemeand procedure
0% 2 days Mon 2/19/07 Tue 2/20/07  
32            
33
CVS check-in and cleanup
4% 17 days? Mon 1/22/07 Tue 2/13/07  
34
Initial setup, existing framework
0% 17 days Mon 1/22/07 Tue 2/13/07  
35
Define proper CVS location for perl, libs, macros
0% 1 day Mon 1/22/07 Mon 1/22/07 Jerome Lauret[10%],Andrew Rose[10%],Lee Barnby[10%]
36
Add existing QA macros to CVS
0% 1 day Tue 1/23/07 Tue 1/23/07 Andrew Rose[20%]
37
Checkout and test on +1 site (non-PDSF), adjust as necessary
0% 1 wk Wed 1/24/07 Tue 1/30/07 Lee Barnby[10%]
38
Bootstrap on +1 site / remove ALL site specifics references
0% 1 wk Wed 1/31/07 Tue 2/6/07 Cristina Suarez[10%]
39
Commit to CVS, verify new scripts on all sites, final adjustments
0% 1 wk Wed 2/7/07 Tue 2/13/07 Cristina Suarez[10%],Andrew Rose[10%],Lee Barnby[10%]
40
QA and nightly tests
17% 7 days? Mon 1/22/07 Tue 1/30/07  
41
Establish a QA area in CVS
100% 1 day? Mon 1/22/07 Mon 1/22/07  
42
Check existing QA suite
0% 1 wk Wed 1/24/07 Tue 1/30/07  
43            
44
Development
0% 62 days Mon 1/22/07 Tue 4/17/07  
45
General QA consolidation
0% 10 days Wed 1/31/07 Tue 2/13/07  
46
Gather feedback from PWG, add QA tests relevant to Physics topics
0% 2 wks Wed 1/31/07 Tue 2/13/07  
47
Establish nightly test framework at BNL for embedding
0% 1 wk Wed 1/31/07 Tue 2/6/07  
48
General improvements
0% 35 days Mon 1/22/07 Fri 3/9/07  
49
Requirements study for an embedding request interface
0% 2 wks Mon 1/29/07 Fri 2/9/07 Andrew Rose[10%],Jerome Lauret[10%]
50
Develop new embedding request form compatible with Drupal module
0% 4 wks Mon 2/12/07 Fri 3/9/07 Andrew Rose[10%]
51
Test new interface, import old tasks (historical purposes)
0% 5 days Mon 1/22/07 Fri 1/26/07 Andrew Rose[10%],Cristina Suarez[10%]
52
Distributed Computing
0% 20 days Wed 2/14/07 Tue 3/13/07  
53
Use SUMS framework to submit embedding, establish first XML
0% 1 wk Wed 2/14/07 Tue 2/20/07 Lee Barnby[10%]
54
Test on one site
0% 1 wk Wed 2/21/07 Tue 2/27/07 Lee Barnby[10%]
55
Test on all sites, adjust as necessary
0% 2 wks Wed 2/28/07 Tue 3/13/07 Cristina Suarez[10%],Andrew Rose[10%],Lee Barnby[10%]
56
Gridfication
0% 25 days Wed 3/14/07 Tue 4/17/07  
57
Test XML using Grid policy (one site)
0% 1 wk Wed 3/14/07 Tue 3/20/07  
58
Establish test of data transfer method, GSI enabled HPSS access possible
0% 1 wk Wed 3/21/07 Tue 3/27/07  
59
Regression and stress test on one site
0% 1 wk Wed 3/28/07 Tue 4/3/07  
60
Test on +1 site, infrastructure consolidation
0% 2 wks Wed 4/4/07 Tue 4/17/07  
61            
62
Embedding operation
25% 261 days? Mon 1/1/07 Mon 12/31/07  
63
PDSF support
50% 261 days? Mon 1/1/07 Mon 12/31/07 Andrew Rose[10%]
64
BHAM support
10% 261 days? Mon 1/1/07 Mon 12/31/07 Lee Barnby[10%]
65
UIC Support including QA
15% 261 days? Mon 1/1/07 Mon 12/31/07 Olga Barranikova[5%],Cristina Suarez[10%]

Chain check, momentum issues

The below plots were the basis for the second Embedding focus meeting 2 as a follow of the Embedding focus meeting.

Olga versus Victor plots - Are they consistent?

Olga Eloss proximity
Eloss proximity from Olga
Olga Eloss idtruth
Eloss idtruth from Olga
Victor's primaries P diff
Victor's P diff (proximity)
Victor's idtruth P diff
Victor's P diff (idtruth)

idtruth versus proximity

Victor proximity
Victor's proximity plot
Victor idtruth
Victor's idtruth

bfcMixer.C Reshape

b>Date: Wednesday, 18 April 2007
Time: 12:21:45
Topic: Embedding Reshape

18 April 2007 12:21:56

Talked to Yuri on Monday (16th)

He would like 3 things worked on.

1. Integration of MC generation part into bfcMixer.C

Basically all kumac commands can be done in macro using gstar.

These would become part of "chain one"

Also need to read in a tag or MuDst file to find vertex to use for generating particles.

Can probably see how this works from bfc.C itself as bfc.C(1) creates particles and runs them through reconstruction.

- actually I could not it is inside bfc.C or StBFChain because it is part of St_geant_Maker

2. Change Hit Mover so that it does not move hits derived from MC info (based on ID truth %age)

3. [I forgot what 3 was!]

Rough sketch of chain modifications for #1

Current bfcMixer

(StChain)Chain

(StBFChain)daqChain<--daq file

(StBFChain simChain<--fz file

                                <---.dat file with vertex positions        

                        MixerMaker

(StBFChain)recoChain

New bfcMixer

(StChain)Chain

(

StBFChain)daqChain<--daq file

                (StBFChain)simChain

                |

                Geant-?-SetGeantMaker<--tags file

                

                MixerMaker

(StBFChain)recoChain

Break down into sub-tasks.

a) Run bfcMixer.C on a daq file with an associated fz and data file (to check that it works!)

b) Ignore fz file and generate MC particle (any!) on the fly

c) reading from tags file generate MC particles at desired vertex & with desired mult.

d) tidy up specify parameter interface (p distn, geant ID etc.)