STAR Council information

Welcome to the STAR council page.

Chairperson: Olga Evdokimov

 

 

Advisory Board

General information

Agenda and minutes

Reports

 

Charter for STAR's advisory board

  1. Membership

    The STAR Advisory Board will consist of up to 14 STAR members, including the Spokesperson, Deputy Spokespersons, Council Chair, Deputy Council Chair, Physics Analysis Coordinator, Software & Computing Leader, and Operations Coordinator. The Council will chose the other members. The Council shall elect six members: three from the collaboration at large, one from the STAR Operations Group and two from the ranks of the Physics Working Group Convenors. The latter six elected members of the Advisory Board shall serve staggered two-year terms. In the steady state, the Council shall elect three members each year. It is intended that members of the Advisory Board be chosen for their collective broad scientific judgment, technical expertise and realistic knowledge of the status, capabilities and available resources of the experiment and of the Collaboration, not as representatives of any particular institution or detector subsystem.

     

  2. Function

    Advisory Board shall provide advice to the Spokesperson and the Council based on in-depth study of issues of major importance to the Collaboration that are placed on the Board's agenda. These issues may include scientific priorities of the experiment, beam use requests and other STAR input to RHIC scheduling considerations, STAR budget and manpower allocations, urgent decisions regarding announcement of scientific results, and priority choices among upgrade paths, among others. The Advisory Board may appoint review committees and task forces to provide input and analysis on technical, scientific and technological decisions, as needed.

     

  3. Meetings

    Meetings of the Advisory Board shall be held at least once every two months and shall be called by and chaired by the Spokesperson, or by his or her designated representative. The agenda for regularly scheduled meetings shall be determined by the Spokesperson in consultation with the Council Chair. This agenda will be made available to Board members and to the Collaboration at least a week before the meeting. Other meetings to address specific issues may be called, as needed, by the Spokesperson or by the Council Chair. Summary minutes of the Advisory Board shall be made available to collaboration members on the STAR web pages.

     

  4. Council Review of Advisory Board

    The operation and utility of the Board will be reviewed by the Council after its first year of operation. A positive Council vote following this review will be needed to continue the Board's existence.

 

Elections

Advisory polls and election information are provided as sub-documents.

Voting are council based.

2007

There are 2 polls in this election, one for the PWGC member, and one for the at-large member.

Second turn (run-off) election

Please vote for each of the 2 polls below:

  • You do not have access to view this node
  • You do not have access to view this node

First turn election

The results are now available for the two polls below.

  • You do not have access to view this node
  • You do not have access to view this node

 

Membership

 

Affliation - Date Elected Representative E-mail Phone #
Council Chair Hank Crawford hjcrawford@lbl.gov 510-486-6962
Spokesperson Nu Xu NXu@lbl.gov 510-495-2951
Deputy Spokesperson Jamie Dunlop dunlop@bnl.gov 631-344-7781
Deputy Spokesperson Olga Barannikova barannik@uic.edu 312-996-4313
Deputy Spokesperson Bernd Surrow surrow@mit.edu 617-325-1522
Physics Analysis Coordinator Bedanga Mohanty bedanga@rcf.bnl.gov 631-344-
Computer Coordinator Jerome Lauret jeromel@bnl.gov 637-344-2450
Operations Coordinator Bill Christie christie@bnl.gov 631-344-7137
Operations Group Seat - 4/08 Stephen Trentalange trent@physics.ucla.edu 310-794-4259
PWG Convenor Seat - 4/06 Declan Keane keane@kent.edu 330-672-00089
PWG Convenor Sear - 5/07      
At Large Seat - 6/08 Carl Gagliardi cggroup@comp.tamu.edu 979-845-1411
At Large Seat - 6/08 Mike Lisa lisa@mps.ohio-state-edu 614-292-8524
At Large Seat - 6/08 Ernst Sichtermann epsichtermann@lbl.gov 510-486-5401
At Large Seat - 5/07 Thomas Ullrich ullrich@bnl.gov 631-344-3922
At Large Seat - 5/07 Peter Jones p.g.jones@bham.ac.uk 44-121-414-4677

 

Reports

This page will archive reports submitted for consideration to the advisory board.

 

Council business

All matters will be posted in PDF or html format.