Awards available for STAR juniors

Below is a list of awards which STAR juniors are generally eligible for.  Please email us with corrections or additions.

  • NSF Mathematical and Physical Sciences Ascending Postdoctoral Research Fellowships (MPS-Ascend) The purpose of the program is to support postdoctoral Fellows who will broaden the participation of groups that are underrepresented in MPS fields in the U.S. including Blacks or African Americans, Hispanics, Latinos, Native Americans, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians and other Native Pacific Islanders as future leaders in MPS fields. The program is intended to recognize beginning investigators of significant potential and provide them with experience in research that will broaden perspectives, facilitate interdisciplinary interactions and help broadening participation within MPS fields. The program funds postdoctoral Fellows in research environments that will have maximal impact on their future scientific development and facilitates their transition into a faculty appointment. The 2022 deadline is January 6. More information here.
  • APS Division of Nuclear Physics Dissertation Award  Nominations are open to any person who has received a Ph. D. degree in experimental or theoretical nuclear physics from a North American university within the two-year period preceding the current nomination deadline. The 2022 deadline is June 1. More information here. $2500 award.
  • RHIC/AGS Thesis Award  Theses submitted and defended during the 12 months prior to the application deadline are eligible for the award. Currently theses must be either written in English or translated. The 2021 deadline is April 2. More information here. $3000 award.
  • RHIC/AGS User's Meeting Poster Award  Requires presentation of a poster at the RHIC/AGS User's Meeting, which is typically held in late May or early June.  Information is posted around the announcement of the User's Meeting; information from last year here. $100 award.
  • RHIC/AGS Users' Executive Committee Merit Award  Recognizes exceptional Students and Scientists who are within 10 years of receiving their PhD, and who have conducted outstanding research in either theory or experiment related to the RHIC, AGS, EIC, NSRL, Tandem, BLIP, and ATF. The Committee will also recognize outstanding publications by students whose work was done prior to receiving their PhDs. The 2022 deadline is May 2. More information here.
  • BWIS Gertrude S Goldhaber Prize  to recognize substantial promise and accomplishment by a woman doctoral candidate in physics. The 2022 deadline is April 1. More information here. $4000 prize.
  • Renate W Chasman Award  Women graduate students at an accredited educational institution doing research at BNL in the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, or mathematics). The candidates must not be receiving their degrees prior to May of scholarship year. The 2022 deadline is March 14.  More information here. $2750 award.
  • L'Oreal USA For Women in Science fellowship program [PostDocs]  A national awards program that annually recognizes and rewards five U.S.-based women researchers at the beginning of their scientific careers. Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident to apply. The 2022 deadline is January 28. More information here. $60000 award toward postdoctoral research.
  • L'Oreal-UNESCO For Women in Science fellowship program [PhDs + PostDocs]  A collection of national award programs that annually recognizes and rewards women researchers at the beginning of their scientific careers. Recipients receive a monetary award. Each nation has a slightly different program & deadlines, so please check it out! More information here.
  • DOE Office of Science Supplemental Support [Students]  The SCGSR program provides supplemental awards to outstanding U.S. graduate students to pursue part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory in areas that address scientific challenges central to the Office of Science mission. [ie: Money to live & study at BNL]. The research opportunity is expected to advance the graduate students’ overall doctoral thesis while providing access to the expertise, resources, and capabilities available at the DOE laboratories. Must be a US citizen or lawful permanent resident. The 2022 deadline is May 4. More information here. The award provides support for inbound and outbound travel to the laboratory, and a monthly stipend of up to $3,000 for general living expenses while at the host DOE laboratory during the award period.
  • AIP and Member Society Government Science Fellowships [PhDs @ All levels]  Four different fellowship programs targeted towards physics PhDs that would like to make an impact on US government policy. The various programs include: AIP State Department Science Fellowship, AIP Congressional Science Fellowship Program, APS/AIP STEM Education Policy Fellowship, and AIP Member Society Fellowships. Applications typically due late in the calendar year. More information here.